Renew Membership   |   Shop   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
The John L. Bryan Award
Share |

The John L. Bryan Award

The John L. Bryan Award, established in 2007, is in recognition of John L. Bryan and his more than fifty years of commitment and dedication to educating and mentoring students and practicing fire protection engineers. This award is presented to an individual who exemplifies commitment and dedication to educating, training and advising fire protection engineers.The recipients are recognized for freely and unselfishly providing their expertise to other individuals in order to assist them in enhancing their education, advancing their careers, and expanding their experience and knowledge in fire protection engineering.


Widely known as "Prof" to his students, Bryan served for 37 years as a professor and the first chairman of the Department of Fire Protection Engineering at the University of Maryland. He was named professor emeritus upon his retirement in 1993. Bryan received B.S. and M.S. degrees from Oklahoma State University and a doctorate from The American University.


While internationally recognized for his work on the subject of human behavior, Bryan's greatest legacy has been the fire protection engineers he has instructed and who now serve the profession around the globe.


2016 Recipient

Jack Poole, P.E., FSFPE

Mr. Poole received a Bachelor of Science Degree in Fire Protection Engineering from the University of Maryland, College Park, in 1986. He is a Registered Fire Protection Engineer (P.E.) in 49 States and 3 U.S. Territories and has 28 years' experience in the fire protection industry. He is the Principal of Poole Fire Protection, with headquarters in Olathe, Kansas and offices in Oklahoma City, Guam, Bahrain, Italy and Africa.

As an alumnus of the University of Maryland, Mr. Poole serves as the Co-Chairman on the University of Maryland Fire Protection Engineering Board of Visitors, is a member of the Fire Protection Engineering Curriculum Advisory Committee, served on the Clinical Professor Search Committee, is a Co-Chairman of the Fire Protection Engineering Alumni Club and serves on the Legacy Campaign Committee for the Professor of the Practice.

In addition to being a Fellow of the Society of Fire Protection Engineers (SFPE), he is on the SFPE Board of Directors and Treasure-elect, he serves on the SFPE Education Committee is a member of several NFPA Technical Committees, the ICC, SAME, NSPE, and is a Past President of the American Backflow Prevention Association.


Prior Recipients

  • Professor John Bryan, FSFPE (2007)
  • Harold E. "Bud" Nelson, P.E., FSFPE (2008)
  • James A. Milke, Ph.D., P.E., FSFPE (2009)
  • William A. Webb, P.E., FSFPE (2010)
  • W.K. Chow, Ph.D., FSFPE (2011)
  • Robert Jonsson, FSFPE (2012)
  • David A. Lucht, P.E., FSFPE (2013)
  • William E. Koffel, Jr., P.E., FSFPE (2014)
  • Frederick W. Mowrer, Ph.D., P.E., FSFPE (2015)
  • Jack Poole, P.E., FSFPE (2016)
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal