This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
News & Press: Foundation News

2018 SFPE Award Recipients

Tuesday, July 31, 2018  
Share |

2018 SFPE Award Recipients

SFPE has a long-standing tradition of recognizing individuals and organizations for their outstanding achievements in support of the fire protection engineering profession. Each year, SFPE members nominate peers they feel deserve recognition and the Board of Directors approves the recipients of the annual Awards of the Society. Similarly, the SFPE Foundation Board of Governors recognizes scientific and research contributions to the profession through the Awards of the Foundation.

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the SFPE and Foundation awards for the 2018. For more information about each award, visit the SFPE Awards page.

The John J. Ahern President’s Award

Carl F. Baldassarra, P.E., FSFPE

The Margaret Law Award
Endowed by Arup Americas

Margaret Law, CEng, FSFPE

The D. Peter Lund

Hal R. Sanders, P.E.

The David A. Lucht Lamp of Knowledge Award

Bart A. Merci, Ph.D.
International Master’s in Fire Safety Engineering (IMFSE)

The John L. Bryan Mentoring Award

Pat D. Brock, FSFPE

The Harold E. Nelson Service Award

Kenneth E. Isman, P.E., FSFPE

The Rolf H. Jensen Award for Outstanding Committee Service

Scott A. Futrell, P.E., FSFPE

The Hat’s Off Award

Russell P. Fleming, P.E., FSFPE

Peter F. Johnson, FSFPE

Daniel J. O’Connor, P.E., FSFPE

Paulo Prata Ramos, M.Arch

Noah L. Ryder, P.E.

David J. Waller, P.E., FSFPE

The Award for Chapter Excellence (ACE)

Gold: Central Savannah River Area Chapter, Chicago Chapter, Greater Atlanta Chapter, New England Chapter, New Jersey Chapter, New York Metropolitan Chapter, Northern California Nevada Chapter, Portugal Chapter, Qatar Chapter, Rocky Mountain Chapter, San Diego and Imperial Counties Chapter, Southern California Chapter, St. Laurent Chapter, Taiwan Chapter, Tennessee Valley Chapter

Silver: CalPoly Student Chapter, Central Virginia Chapter, Chesapeake Chapter, Cincinnati Tri-State Chapter, Greater Charlotte Chapter, Oklahoma Chapter, Philadelphia-Delaware Chapter, Southern Ontario Chapter, Sweden Chapter, UNC Charlotte Student Chapter, Wisconsin Chapter

Bronze: Central Gulf Coast Chapter, French Chapter, Hawaii Chapter, Japan Chapter, Middle Tennessee Chapter, Mo-Kan Chapter, Rio Grande Chapter

The SFPE Foundation Awards

The Arthur B. Guise Medal

Guillermo Rein, Ph.D.

The Student Scholar Award

Selena K. Chin
University of Maryland


The Jack Bono Award for Engineering Communications

David T. Butry, Ph.D.

Douglas S. Thomas

For their journal submission “Cigarette Fires Involving Upholstered Furniture in Residences: The Role that Smokers, Smoker Behavior, and Fire Standard Compliant Cigarettes Play”

"SFPE is proud and delighted to honor this year’s distinguished group of award recipients,” said SFPE President J.C. Harrington, P.E., FSFPE. “The contributions to our noble profession by these individuals, chapters, and organizations truly embody SFPE’s vision of being leaders in engineering a fire-safe world."

This year’s awards and honors recipients will be recognized during the SFPE Annual Conference & Expo, being held in Nashville, TN from October 28-30, 2018. For information and details about the Awards or the conference, visit the conference website.

Corporate 100 Visionaries

About Us

© 2019 SFPE | All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy