This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
2019 Awards

SFPE is Looking for Leaders in the Fire Protection Engineering Community

We are now accepting award nominations for both the Society and Foundation Awards. If you know someone who demonstrates leadership, commitment and involvement with SFPE, please nominate them for consideration for one of our awards. Nominations are due no later than March 15, 2019.

  • The D. Peter Lund Award: The Board of Directors established the D. Peter Lund Award in 1997 to recognize a member for their significant contributions to the advancement of the professional recognition of the fire protection engineer.
  • The David A. Lucht Lamp of Knowledge Award: This award honors an organization, company, or individual that has contributed substantially to increasing the opportunities for higher education in fire protection engineering. The award is named for David A. Lucht in recognition of his 25 years of leadership and dedication to the Worcester Polytechnic Institute Center for Firesafety Studies and his tireless efforts on behalf of the fire protection engineering profession.
  • The Harold E. Nelson Service Award: The Board of Directors created the Harold E. Nelson Service Award in 1987 to recognize dedicated and inspired service to the ideas and goals of the Society. The award is named after Harold E. "Bud" Nelson, P.E., whose parallel fire protection engineering and Society careers are truly worthy of emulation.
  • The John L. Bryan Mentoring Award: This award, established in 2007, is in recognition of John L. Bryan and his more than fifty years of commitment and dedication to education and mentoring students and practicing fire protection engineers. This award is presented to a member who exemplifies commitment and dedication to educating, training and advising fire protection engineers. The recipients are recognized for freely and unselfishly providing their expertise to other individuals in order to assist them in enhancing their education, advancing their careers, and expanding their experience and knowledge in fire protection engineering.
  • The Margaret Law Award: Established last year by the SFPE Board of Directors, this award recognizes individuals who have pioneered advancement associated with engineering fire safety of the built environment.
  • The Rolf H. Jensen Award for Outstanding Committee Service: The Rolf H. Jensen Award recognizes a member who have rendered unselfish, extraordinary and unusual service on a SFPE committee. The committee service must contribute to Society goals and to the profession of fire protection engineering.
  • Fire Protection Person of the Year Award: This Award was created in 1973 to recognize significant achievement in the protection of humanity and the environment from the ravages of unwanted fire and an outstanding contribution to fire protection from outside the membership of SFPE which is broad in scope and has apparent lasting effects.
  • Hats Off Award: The Hats Off Award is designed to recognize Society members who, in the course of their SFPE assignments, put forth that extra effort ... walk that extra mile ... to ensure that the effort expended was the absolute best.

Foundation Awards

The following research awards are given by the SFPE Foundation. For more information about the Foundation or to donate to support the awards it gives out annually, in addition to other grants and forms of research support, visit the Foundation website.

  • The Arthur B. Guise Medal: This award is presented by the SFPE Foundation and represents its most prestigious research award. The Arthur B. Guise Medal recognizes eminent achievement in the advancement of the science and technology of fire protection engineering and is named in memory of the achievements of Arthur Guise, who singularly developed dry chemicals for use as fire extinguishing agents. The achievement may be in research, development, design, innovation, management, education or literature.
  • Student Scholar Award:This award was established in 2006 by the Foundation's Board of Governors to recognize high-performing students who are conducting research to advance the science and practice of fire protection engineering. Nominations are accepted from undergraduate, graduate and post-graduate students and are judged on scientific quality and relevance of their research to the fire protection engineering profession.

Corporate 100 Visionaries

About Us

© 2019 SFPE | All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy