This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Membership and Chapter Relations Standing Committee

Scope of Work

The Standing Committee on Members and Chapters (CMC) is responsible for the recruitment and retention of members as well as recognizing member achievements. Committee members receive recommendations of fire protection engineers or related professionals to consider recognition for their stature or significant, noteworthy accomplishments. The Committee fosters communication among chapters, HQ and the Board of Directors. The Committee is also responsible for helping in the formation of new chapters, creating stronger ties between the chapter and SFPE and identifying opportunities for the chapters to help in disseminating SFPE news and information that is relevant to their constituencies.

Committee Members

Committee members are appointed by the SFPE Board of Directors for a three-year term. Members can request to be appointed to a second three-year term. Requests are reviewed by the Chair and the staff liaison and decisions are made by the Board of Directors. End of term is denoted in parentheses below.

Committee Chair: Bill Koffel
Staff Liaison: Julie Gordon

Clay Aler (2021)
Paul Anslow (2021)
Ray Bizal (2022)
Glenn Buser (2021)
Thomas Christman (2019)
William Clay (2021)
Matthew Daelhousen (2022)
Sean Donohue (2021)
Matthew Drewello (2021)
Derek Duval (2021)
Doug Fisher (2021)
Thomas Forsythe (2021)
Dave Frable (2021)
Deborah Freeland (2021)
Ray Freemont, Jr. (2022)
Meghan Goodwin (2020)
Thomas Gray (2021)
Robert Hanson (2021)
Timothy Hawthorne (2021)
Steve Hill (2021)
Bradford James (2021)
Dale Jenkins (2020)
Joseph Johnson (2021)
Mary Jorgensen (2021)
Jack Kilavuz (2020)
George Laverick (2021)
Shay Massey (2022)
Jeri Morey (2021)
David Morrisset*(2021)
Elizabeth Mullin (2021)
Elton Ng Soon Kuan (2022)
Kelly Opert (2021)
Melinda Pfenning (2021)
Richard Reitberger (2021)
Anna Santoro* (2021)
Ankit Sharma (2021)
Steve Sheldon (2021)
Saif Ahmad Siddiqui (2019)
Sarge Slicer (2021)
Shamim Rashid-Sumar (2021)
Jared Thibodaux (2020)
Tracy Vecchiarelli (2022)
Craig Vesely (2021)
Thomas Wright (2021)

* = Student Member



Scope of Work

The Awards Subcommittee reviews the nominations and makes selection of awards for final approval by the SFPE Board of Directors.

Committee Members

Subcommittee Chair: Craig Vesely
Staff Liaison: Julie Gordon

  • Raymond Bizal
  • Tom Christman
  • Thomas Forsythe
  • Stephen Hill
  • Shay Massey
  • Jared Thibodaux

Chapter Relations

Scope of Work

This Subcommittee is responsible for looking at ways to strengthen and better align the Society’s mission with the work of the chapters. In 2016, this Subcommittee will be working to advance the work that was done at the annual conference in Philadelphia and to create and finalize a strategic plan for HQ and the chapters.

Committee Members

Subcommittee Chair: Timothy A. Hawthorne
Staff Liaison: Julie Gordon
  • Paul Anslow
  • William Clay
  • Derek Duval
  • Doug Fisher
  • Deborah Freeland
  • Jeri Morey
  • Kelly Opert
  • Shamim Rashid-Sumar
  • Ankit Sharma* 
  • Steve Sheldon
  • Sarge Slicer
  • Tracy Vecchiarelli

Membership Growth and Engagement

Scope of Work

This Subcommittee is responsible for looking at ways to recruit new Society members through campaigns and marketing. This Subcommittee also is responsible for reviewing member services to ensure the Society has a strong value proposition to ensure retention of members.

Committee Members

Subcommittee Chair: Sean S. Donohue
Staff Liaison: Julie Gordon
  • Derek Duval
  • Meghan Goodwin
  • Robert Hanson
  • Timothy Hawthorne
  • Mary Jorgensen
  • Jack Kilavuz
  • Elizabeth Mullin
  • Kelly Opert


Scope of Work

This Subcommittee evaluates applications for Professional Member against the membership criteria in the SFPE Constitution and Bylaws. The Subcommittee evaluates nominations for the grade of Fellow and makes selections for final approval by the SFPE Board of Directors.

Committee Members

Subcommittee Chair: Sarge Slicer
Vice Chair: Deborah Freeland
Staff Liaison: Julie Gordon
  • Clay Aler
  • Matt Daelhousen
  • Matthew Drewello
  • Dave Frable
  • Deborah Freeland
  • Thomas Gray
  • George Laverick
  • Richard Reitberger
  • Steven Sheldon
  • Thomas Wright

 To join a Standing Committee or Subcommittee fill out and submit this volunteer application. The Board of Directors will review applications and make appointments on a rolling basis.

Corporate 100 Visionaries

About Us

© 2019 SFPE | All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy