This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Continuing Professional Development Standing Committee

Scope of Work

The Standing Committee on Continuing Professional Development (CPD) is charged with developing and maintaining a strategic continuing education plan for the Society; developing core educational content, providing guidance on topics and content for workshops, symposia and conferences, which meet the body of knowledge transfer and continuing education needs of members worldwide; providing guidance on the delivery formats and methods to facilitate global delivery of core educational content; implementing the instructor review and approval process as defined in the standing rules; and providing guidance on use of relevant education from other allied organizations.

Committee Members

Committee members are appointed by the SFPE Board of Directors for a three-year term. Members can request to be appointed to a second three-year term. Requests are reviewed by the Chair and the staff liaison and decisions are made by the Board of Directors. End of term is denoted in parentheses below.

Committee Chair: Paul F. Hart
Staff Liaison: Louis Guerrazzi

Turki AlDrees (2018)
Glenn Berger (2018)
Rolland Blais (2018)
Richard Boehm (2018)
Warren Bonisch (2018)
Edgar Boyano (2019)
Mark Buschman (2018)
John Callahan, Jr. (2019) 
Douglas Carpenter (2018) 
Gilles Carrier (2018)
Bruce Clarke (2018) 
Stephen Dale (2018) 
Gary Daniels (2018) 
James Day (2020)
Nimish Deo (2019) 
Mark Fessenden (2018) 
Jerry Forstater (2018) 
Jason Frank (2018) 
John Frank (2018)
Rudy Gaspillo (2020) 
Daniel Goldberg (2019) 
Gerardo Lopez Gorbea (2018)
Louis Guerrazzi (2020)
Wissam Jabr (2019) 
Ernesto Vega Janica (2018)
Robert Jonsson (2018) 
Vishal Kashyap (2020)
Philip Kaufman (2018) 
Rajesh Kaul (2020)
Shaun Kelly (2018)
Kouji Kobayashi (2018)
James Landmesser (2018) 
Francisco Latosinski (2018) 
John LeBlanc (2019) 
Robert Lopez (2020)
Karim Magar (2020)
Alan Moore (2018) 
Fayomi Oloruntoba (2018) 
Pierre Paquin (2019) 
Rob Plonski (2020)
Robert Richter (2020)
Jesus Rivera (2020)
Benjamin Roush (2018) 
Siddharth Sharma (2020)
Mahmoud Sobeih (2020)
Matthew Steine (2018) 
Michele Taddeo (2019) 
Amal Tamim (2020)
Samuel Toren (2019) 
Kingsley Ukanwa (2018)
Haluk Yanik (2018)


Course Content and Delivery

Subcommittee Chair: Mark Fessenden
Staff Liaison: Louis Guerrazzi

Scope of Work

The subcommittee shall identify the content that is needed and provide oversight over its development. The development of the content may come from members, consultants, staff, or other resources identified by the committee. In all cases the development of the content must adhere to the policies and procedures established by the Standing Committee and approved by the Board, or otherwise established by the Board as required.

The subcommittee will also identify modes of delivery and formats (online and in person) which can help SFPE effectively deliver the core educational content anywhere in the world in a cost-effective and timely manner.

The subcommittee will not have the authority to engage contractors in support of subcommittee activities, but would be expected to provide input to staff on competency requirements for evaluating contractors and bids, and to provide content review of contractors’ bids if requested.

Committee Members

  • Mark H. Buschman
  • Douglas J. Carpenter
  • Jerry Forstater
  • Gerardo Lopez Gorbea
  • Shaun Kelly
  • James A. Landmesser

Conferences, Workshops and Symposia

Subcommittee Chair: James A. Landmesser, Jr.
Staff Liaison: Louis Guerrazzi

Scope of Work

The subcommittee provides input on topics and content for workshops, symposiums and conferences which meet the body of knowledge transfer and continuing education needs of members worldwide as delivered in this format. This subcommittee will also serve on the program committees for such events, including the annual North America Conference, European Conference, PBD Conference, etc. It is the discretion of the subcommittee chair to assign task groups for individual events. The subcommittee will not have the authority to enter into contracts for these activities but would be expected to provide input to staff on issues such as local venues, costs, etc. as needed.

Committee Members

  • Warren D. Bonisch
  • Gilles Carrier
  • Bruce H. Clarke
  • Gary J. Daniels
  • Ernesto Vega Janica
  • Matthew H. Stiene
  • William A. Webb
  • Haluk Yanik

PE Exam Preparation

Subcommittee Chair: John Frank
Staff Liaison: Louis Guerrazzi

Scope of Work

The subcommittee for PE Exam Preparation is comprised of members with an interest, experience or expertise in developing or delivering content for fire protection engineering or other related credentialing examinations. The subcommittee is responsible for developing, promoting and delivering tools to prepare candidates for the U.S. engineering licensure examination and other credentialing examinations. Subcommittee members cannot be involved in PE exam development activities.

Committee Members

  • Richard T. Beohm
  • Glenn S. Berger
  • Stephen Dale
  • Jerry Forstater

To join a standing committee or subcommittee fill out and submit this volunteer application. The Board of Directors will review applications and make appointments on a rolling basis.

© SFPE® | All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy