Renew Membership   |   Shop   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
The Rolf H. Jensen Award for Outstanding Committee Service
Share |

The Rolf H. Jensen Award for Outstanding Committee Service


The Rolf H. Jensen Award recognizes persons who have rendered unselfish, extraordinary service on a SFPE committee which contributes to SFPE's goals and to the profession of fire protection engineering.


Rolf H. Jensen, P.E. started his career at Underwriters Laboratories and continued on to serve as professor and chairman of the Department of Fire Protection Engineering at Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT). Jensen left IIT to start Rolf Jensen and Associates. The firm went on to become one of the largest consulting engineering firms in the field (now Jensen Hughes).


Among his many notable achievements, Jensen was appointed chairman by Mayor Richard J. Daley to investigate the 1967 McCormick Place fire in Chicago. Jensen was active in the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), where he served on numerous technical committees. Jensen served on the NFPA automatic sprinkler committee for 37 years and chaired the NFPA 13 New Technology Subcommittee during a period which saw many advancements in sprinkler technology. Jensen wrote the book "Fire Protection for the Design Professional" and received numerous awards, including the NFPA's Partners in Public Education Award in 1994 for his work in collaborative public education efforts, and service awards from the NFPA and the SFPE in the 1990s. He served as SFPE's President from 1987-1989.


Jensen is widely credited for achieving acceptance of fire protection engineering as part of the design process.


The award is endowed by Jensen Hughes and the recipient also receives a $1,000 honorarium.


2016 Recipient

Frederick W. Mowrer, Ph.D., P.E., FSFPE

Dr. Frederick W. Mowrer received his BS degree in Fire Protection and Safety Engineering from the Illinois Institute of Technology in 1976. He received his MS degree in Engineering (1981) and his PhD in Fire Protection Engineering and Combustion Science (1987) from the University of California, Berkeley. Dr. Mowrer served on the faculty of the Department of Fire Protection Engineering at the University of Maryland from 1987 until 2008, when he retired with emeritus status.  In 2009, Dr. Mowrer spearheaded the development and establishment of Fire Protection Engineering Programs at California Polytechnic State University in San Luis Obispo. He has been the Director of FPE programs at Cal Poly since then.  Dr. Mowrer is a Fellow of the SFPE and served as President of the Society in 2002. He served as Chair of the SFPE Technical Steering Committee from 2004 until 2015 and has served on a number of other committees of the SFPE.

Prior Recipients

  • James A. Milke, P.E., Ph. D. FSFPE (1988)
  • Craig L. Beyler, Ph. D., FSFPE (1989)
  • Richard L. P. Custer (1989)
  • W. Douglas Walton, P.E., FSFPE (1989)
  • John M. Watts, Jr. (1989)
  • James R. Quiter, P.E. (1990)
  • Henry J. Perrault, P.E. (1991)
  • Nora H. Jason (1992)
  • Richard J. Davis, P.E. (1993)
  • David R. Bouchard, P.E. (1998)
  • Edwin R. Bayley, P.E. (1999)
  • Eric R. Rosenbaum, P.E. (2000)
  • Ralph R. Kerwin, P.E. (2001)
  • Jack A. Mawhinney, P.Eng. (2002)
  • Gregory Jakubowski, P.E., FSFPE (2003)
  • Dean K. Wilson, P.E. (2004)
  • Daniel J. O'Connor, P.E. FSFPE (2005)
  • Brian M. McGraw, P.E. (2006)
  • William B. Till, Jr. (2007)
  • David Allan Coutts, Ph. D. (2008)
  • Beth A. Tubbs, P.E., FSFPE (2009)
  • J. Kenneth Richardson, P.Eng., FSFPE (2010)
  • Craig Hofmeister, PE, FSFPE (2011)
  • Kevin McGrattan, Ph.D., HSFPE (2012)
  • Anthony J. Militello, P.E. (2013)
  • Ann Jeffers, Ph.D. (2014)
  • April Leyla Hammond, FSFPE (2015)
  • Frederick W. Mowrer, Ph.D., P.E., FSFPE (2016)

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal