Arthur B. Guise Medal

Endowed by R. Keith Guise

Nomination Deadline 

April 5, 2021


  • This award is presented by the SFPE Foundation and represents its most prestigious research award.
  • The Arthur B. Guise Medal recognizes eminent achievement in the advancement of the science and technology of fire protection engineering and is named in memory of the achievements of Arthur Guise, who singularly developed dry chemicals for use as fire extinguishing agents.
  • The achievement may be in research, development, design, innovation, management, education, or literature.
  • Accompanying the bronze medal is a $2,000 honorarium provided by R. Keith Guise and the SFPE Foundation.


  • The medal, authorized in 1982, is bestowed upon an individual for eminent achievement in the advancement of the science and technology of fire protection engineering.
  • Such achievement may be in the areas of research, development, design, innovation, management, education, or literature.

Nominate Someone for this Award

To submit a nomination, you must be logged into your SFPE member profile. Click here to log in > Profile > Account Information> Forms > Submit an Awards Nomination and select the Arthur B. Guise Medal Award. 

Please be sure to include the following information in an uploaded document along with the nomination form.

  1. Full name of the nominee.
  2. Nominee mailing and email address.
  3. A description (max 1000 words) for the nominee's achievement(s) in the advancement of the science and technology of fire protection engineering.

If you have any questions please email


Arthur B. Guise, P.E., engineer, and scientist, was singularly responsible for the development of dry chemicals as fire extinguishing agents used in portable extinguishers and fixed extinguishing systems. During his distinguished fire protection engineering career, spanning five and a half decades, he was responsible for an array of advancements in the technology and practice of fire protection engineering.

Among his contributions:

  • helped establish the Ansul Fire School
  • conceived the free-radical theory of fire extinguishing
  • developed the science and practice of fire extinguishment for high challenge fire hazards such as natural gas, LNG, rubber tires, and combustible metals
  • described the methods for evaluating basic extinguishing effectiveness of dry chemicals, halons, carbon dioxide, and other agents
  • developed foam compatible dry chemicals
  • developed the principles of flow and distribution of fluidized powder
  • reduced "light water" (perfluorocarbon surfactants) to practice
  • developed "twin agent" extinguishing systems and technology

Guise graduated from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in 1927 with a B.S. degree in chemical engineering. He subsequently worked in the petroleum industry for the Atlantic refining Company, Cities Service Refining, and the Okmulgee Gas and Oil Company (now Phillips); for Rockwood Sprinkler, U.S. Rubber, and from 1935 until 1941 for Factory Mutual Laboratories. In 1942 he joined DuGas engineering, then a subsidiary of Ansul. He spent the next 24 years with Ansul, retiring in 1966. After retiring he engaged in private consulting. During his lifetime he was issued 12 patents.

When Guise died in 1982, there was little doubt that his technical and scientific contributions to fire protection had, in the final analysis, resulted in a significant reduction in the loss of life and property due to fire. He left the world a better and safer place than he found it.

2021 Recipient


 Pravinray D. Gandhi, Ph.D

Past Recipients

  • Erica Kuligowski, Ph.D. (2020)
  • Paul E. Rivers, P.E., FSFPE (2019)
  • Guillermo Rein, Ph.D. (2018)
  • Arvind Atreya, Ph.D. (2017)
  • James A. Milke, Ph.D., P.E., FSFPE (2016)
  • Professor Takeyoshi Tanaka, FSFPE (2015)
  • Professor Ai Sekizawa, FSFPE (2014)
  • Dr. David A. Charters (2013)
  • Richard W. Bukowski, P.E., FSFPE (2012)
  • Dr. Charles Fleischmann, FSFPE (2011)
  • Dr. Guyléne Proulx, FSFPE (2010)
  • Archibald Tewarson, Ph.D. (2009)
  • Dr. Jose L. Torero (2008)
  • William D. Walton, P.E., FSFPE (2007)
  • James G. Quintiere, Ph. D., FSFPE (2006)
  • Phillip J. DiNenno, P.E., FSFPE (2005)
  • Dr. Vytenis Babrauskas (2004)
  • Dr. Hsiang-Cheng Kung (2003)
  • David A. Lucht, P.E. (2002)
  • Dr. R. Brady Williamson (2001)
  • Dr. Craig L. Beyler (2000)
  • Dr. Howard R. Baum (1999)
  • Dr. John L. Bryan (1998)
  • Cheng Yao, M.S. (1997)
  • Dr. Dougal Drysdale (1995)
  • Margret Law, MBE (1994)
  • James F. O'Regan, P.E. (1993)
  • George T. Tamura (1992)
  • Dr. Phillip H. Thomas, Ceng (1991)
  • Walter M. Haessler (1990)
  • Dr. Tibor Z. Harmathy (1989)
  • Dr. Oliver W. Johnson, PE (1987)
  • Dr. Howard Emmons (1986)
  • Dr. Gunnar Heskestad (1985)
  • Arthur B. Guise (1983)