The Jean-Claude de Smedt Award

SFPE Europe established The Jean-Claude de Smedt Award in 2018 to recognize significant contributions in advancing the recognition of the fire protection engineering and fire safety engineering profession in Europe.

This award is named in honor of Jean-Claude de Smedt, the first chair of SFPE Europe, formerly called the ECCG, who was instrumental in developing a thriving network of SFPE Chapter throughout Europe.

In honor of his remarkable work in promoting the profession in Europe, this award recognizes individuals who have contributed significantly to enhancing recognition and elevating the role of the fire protection engineer, or fire safety engineer, in Europe.

An award committee will consider nominations submitted from around Europe. The award is endowed by SFPE Europe and the recipient(s) will be announced at the SFPE Europe conference.

Who was Jean-Claude de Smedt?

After his technical HVAC engineering studies in 1976, de Smedtworked for almost 40 years in the field of fire engineering. He began his career focusing on smoke control at Colt International in Belgium, and started his own company in 1993. During this period, he contributed to prestigious buildings, not only in Belgium, but also elsewhere in Europe and even the Asia-Pacific region. de Smedt was also heavily involved in many relevant standard committees related to smoke control in Belgium and in Europe, as well as in the U.S. For a period of six years, he was chair of CEN TC191 SC1, “Smoke & Heat Control Installations” (responsible for the EN 12101 series of standards). In his long career, he has published and presented his work and thoughts at many conferences.

In the latter part of his career, de Smedt has worked for a number of international fire-testing institutes and the fire engineering departments of consultant businesses. He also has put a lot of effort into associations such as IFE and SFPE. It is especially his work related to establishing SFPE in Europe that is honored through this award.

2019 Recipient


Jimmy Jönsson

Prior Recipients

  • Jean-Claude de Smedt (2018)
  • Jimmy Jönsson (2019)