Awards & Honors

Nominations for 2024 SFPE Awards are closed.

Each year, the Board of Directors approves the recipients deserving of the Society's highest accolades. Information about the Society's awards, including past recipients, is below. Information on the SFPE Foundation's awards can be found here.

SFPE Lund Award for Professional Recognition

The Board of Directors established the D. Peter Lund Award in 1997 to recognize significant contributions to the advancement of the professional recognition of the fire protection engineer. This Award is named in honor of D. Peter Lund, CAE, the Society's first Executive Director. Learn more about the Lund Award.

SFPE Lucht Award for Contributions to Education

This Award honors an organization, company, or individual that has contributed substantially to increasing the opportunities for higher education in fire protection engineering. The Award is named for David A. Lucht in recognition of his 25 years of leadership and dedication to the Worcester Polytechnic Institute Center for Fire Safety Studies and his tireless efforts on behalf of the fire protection engineering profession. Learn more about the Lucht Award.

SFPE Nelson Award for Inspired Service

The Board of Directors created the Harold E. Nelson Service Award in 1987 to recognize dedicated and inspired service to the ideas and goals of the Society. The Award is named after Harold E. "Bud" Nelson, PE, whose parallel fire protection engineering and Society careers are genuinely worthy of emulation. Learn more about the Nelson Award.

SFPE Ahern President's Award

Initially created by the SFPE Board of Directors in 1987 as the President's Award, the Ahern Award honors individuals whose conspicuous contributions deserve special recognition by the Society and its leadership. The award was renamed in 1993 to honor the Society's first President. Learn more about the Ahern Award.

SFPE Bryan Mentoring Award

This Award, established in 2007, recognizes John L. Bryan and his more than fifty years of commitment and dedication to education, mentoring students, and practicing fire protection engineers. This award is presented to an individual who exemplifies commitment and dedication to educating, training, and advising fire protection engineers. The recipients are recognized for freely and unselfishly providing their expertise to other individuals to assist them in enhancing their education, advancing their careers, and expanding their experience and knowledge in fire protection engineering. Learn more about the Bryan Award.

SFPE Jensen Award for Committee Service

The Rolf H. Jensen Award recognizes persons who have rendered unselfish, extraordinary, and unusual service on an SFPE committee. The committee service must contribute to the Society's goals and the fire protection engineering profession. Learn more about the Jensen Award.

SFPE Fire Protection Person of the Year Award

This Award was created in 1973 to recognize significant achievement in protecting humanity and the environment from the ravages of unwanted fire and an outstanding contribution to fire protection from outside the membership of SFPE, which is broad in scope and has apparent lasting effects. Learn more about the Fire Protection Person of the Year Award.

SFPE Spotlight Award

The Spotlight Award is designed to recognize Society members who, during their SFPE assignments, put forth that extra effort ... walk that extra mile ... to ensure that the effort expended was the absolute best. Learn more about the Spotlight Award.

SFPE Trailblazer Award

This Award is presented to individuals who have pioneered advancements associated with the engineering fire safety of the built environment – specifically those who have demonstrated a profound, continuous, and trailblazing commitment to fundamental scientific understanding, technical rigor, and the ability to translate fire science principles into practical building design solutions to benefit future generations of engineering fire safety professionals and the public at large. Learn more about the Trailblazer Award.

SFPE Award for Chapter Excellence

The SFPE Board of Directors established the Award for Chapter Excellence (formerly called Chapter Excellence Awards) in 2005 to recognize Chapters that demonstrated excellence in contributing to the needs of their members and the Society. Three levels of recognition are awarded - Gold, Silver, and Bronze. Learn more about the Chapter Excellence Awards.

SFPE 5 Under 35 Award

The 5 Under 35 Award recognizes five individuals each year who represent the top rising leaders who give back to the fire protection engineering profession and the community. Learn more about the 5 Under 35 Awards.