This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
The Jack Bono Award for Engineering Communications

Endowed by Underwriters Laboratories

The Jack Bono Award for Engineering Communications is named after Jack A. Bono, a Fellow and Past President of the Society who worked at Underwriters Laboratories Inc. (UL) for 44 years.

Bono began his 44-year career with UL in 1946, following his honorable discharge from the U.S. Navy and his graduation from Northwestern University. In succeeding years, he held various engineering and management positions including manager of UL’s fire protection department. In May 1978, Jack was named UL’s 7th President and CEO. As President, Jack was known as “The Architect,” overseeing the development and expansion of UL’s testing laboratories in Northbrook, IL, Melville, NY, Research Triangle Park, NC, and Santa Clara, CA, as well as numerous other testing facilities. He also pioneered and formalized UL’s relationships with many outside constituencies, and was a strong proponent of maintaining close working relations with the regulatory community. He served as president of UL until his retirement in 1990.

Bono left behind a remarkable legacy of dedication and service to public safety. Development of the current rating systems for fire extinguishers was among his many accomplishments. In addition to his distinguished service at UL and the Society, Bono was a former member of the board of directors of the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), American National Standards Institute (ANSI) and the American Society of Testing and Materials (ASTM).

In honor of this remarkable legacy, this award recognizes author(s) who have most contributed to the advancement and application of professional fire protection engineering in the prior year.

The award is endowed by Underwriters Laboratories and the recipient(s) also receives a $2,000 honorarium.

2018 Recipients

Matthew Hoehler, Ph.D., P.E.

Christopher Smith, Ph.D., P.E.

The Jack Bono Award for Engineering Communications was awarded for their paper entitled "Imaging Through Fire Using Narrow Spectrum Illumination" that will appear in 2019 in Fire Technology (Volume 55, Issue 6, pp 1705-1723).

Prior Recipients

  • Vytenis Babrauskas, Ph. D. (1997)
  • Jonathan Barnett, Ph.D. (1998)
  • Bernard Cuzzillo, Ph.D. and Patrick Pagni, Ph.D. (1999)
  • Andrew Kim, Ph.D. and Joseph Su, Ph.D. (2000)
  • Stefan Sardquist and Goren Holmstedt (2002)
  • Ian D. Bennetts, Ph.D. and Ian R. Thomas, Ph.D. (2004)
  • Christopher J. Wieczorek, Ph. D., Uri Vandsburger, Ph. D., and Jaon E. Floyd, Ph. D. (2005)
  • Paul A. Croce, Sc.D., John P. Hill, and Yibing Xin, Ph.D. (2006)
  • Justin A. Geiman, Daniel T. Gottuk, Ph.D., P.E., and James A. Milke, Ph.D., P.E., FSFPE (2007)
  • Hui Xie, Lazaros Filippidis, Darren Blackshields, Peter Lawrence, Steven Gwynne, and Edwin R. Galea (2008)
  • Andrew K. Kim, Ph.D. and George P. Crampton (2009)
  • John L. de Ris, Hong-Zeng Yu, and Benjamin Ditch (2010)
  • Yaping He, Prof. (2011)
  • Magnus Arvidson (2012)
  • Ying Zhen Li, Bo Lei, and Haukur Ingason (2013)
  • William C-K Wong, LEED AP, Professor Nicholas A. Dembsey, Ph.D, P.E., FSFPE, Jarrod Alston, P.E., and Chris W. Lautenberger, Ph.D., P.E. for "A Multi-component Data Set Framework for Validation of CFD Flame Spread Models" (2014)
  • Elizabeth Blanchard, Ph.D., Pascal Boulet, Pierre Carlotti, Sylvain Desanghere, Philippe Fromy, J.P. Garo,  and J.P. Vantelon for "Experimental and Numerical Study of the Interaction Between Water Mist and Fire in an Intermediate Test Tunnel" (2015)
  • Nils Johansson, Ph.D., Stefan Svensson, Ph.D., and Patrick van Hees, Ph.D. for "A Study of Reproducibility of Full-Scale Mulit-Room Compartment Fire Experiment" (2016)
  • Kevin McGrattan, Ph.D., Richard Peacock, and Kristopher Overholt, Ph.D. for "Validation of Fire Models Applied to Nuclear Power Plant Safety" (2017)
  • David T. Butry, Ph.D. and Douglas S. Thomas for “Cigarette Fires Involving Upholstered Furniture in Residences: The Role that Smokers, Smoker Behavior, and Fire Standard Compliant Cigarettes Play” (2018)
  • Matthew Hoehler, Ph.D., P.E. and Christopher Smith, Ph.D., P.E. for "Imaging Through Fire Using Narrow Spectrum Illumination" (2019)

Corporate 100 Visionaries

About Us

© 2019 SFPE | All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy