5 Under 35


SFPE established the 5 Under 35 Award to recognize five individuals each year who best represent the industry’s top rising leaders who are giving back to the fire protection engineering profession and the community. The individuals chosen for recognition will receive complimentary registration to the SFPE Annual Conference and Expo, will be recognized during an EPS event at the conference, and will be recognized in the FPE magazine and website.


SFPE seeks talented individuals in the Fire Protection Engineering community who work at any level in the industry and who has had an impact in the field or within the society. The nominee should exhibit qualities such as leadership, volunteerism, and professional growth. Nominees should display a commitment to helping shape the future of our industry beyond just personal development or the growth/success of their employer.

  1. Nominees can be from anywhere in the world.
  2. Nominees must be under 35 years of age as of January 1 of year awarded.
  3. Nominees should exhibit the characteristics identified above: leadership, community leadership and professional growth.
  4. Describe the nominee’s service to the community (SFPE, engineering, or other programs)


2022 5 Under 35 Recipients


Spence R. Carter, PE
Idaho National Laboratory
United States


William A. Clay
Burns & McDonnell
United States


Jessica L. Doermann
United States


Ruggiero Lovreglio, PhD
Massey University 
 New Zealand


Yu Wang, PhD
The State Key Laboratory of Fire Science, China University of Science and Technology

Prior Recipients

Robert F. Accosta, Jr., P.E. (2019)
Julie E. Brown, P.E. (2020)
Elizabeth K. Carcone, P.E. (2020)
Steven E. Dannaway, P.E. (2021)
Gary Dominguez, P.E., CFPS (2021)
Daniel J. Gorham, P.E. (2020)
Richard Emberley, Ph.D. (2021)
Kevin R. Hall, P.E. (2021)
Xinyan Huang, Ph.D. (2021)
Shay E. Massey (2019)
Priya Elizabeth Parag (2019)
Mohammed A. Saeefan (2020)
Maria F. Theodori (2019)
Tracy L. Vecchiarelli, P.E. (2019)
Wojceich Węgrzyński, Ph.D. (2020)