SFPE Elevates 6 Individuals to Fellow Status; Recognizes 14 Additional Award Recipients

SFPE Elevates 6 Individuals to Fellow Status; Recognizes 14 Additional Award Recipients

New Fellows Warren D. Bonisch, Dale C. Hansen, Gavin Horn, Peter L. Senez, Victoria B. Valentine, and Steven D. Wolin receive the Society’s highest professional honor

August 8, 2022: GAITHERSBURG, Maryland – The Society of Fire Protection Engineers (SFPE), the world’s leading professional society for fire protection and fire safety engineering, announces its newest class of Fellows and 2022 award recipients. 
Fellow membership represents the highest professional honor of SFPE and is bestowed to individuals who have amassed significant accomplishments and stature in fire protection engineering.  SFPE members elevated to the status of Fellow in 2022 include:
  • Warren D. Bonisch, PE, FSFPE; Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates
  • Dale C. Hansen, PE, FSFPE; Harrington Group
  • Gavin Horn, PhD, FSFPE; UL Fire Safety Research Institute
  • Peter L. Senez, PEng, FSFPE; Senez Consulting
  • Victoria B. Valentine, PE, FSFPE; American Fire Sprinkler Association
  • Steven D. Wolin, PE, FSFPE; The Reliable Automatic Sprinkler Co.
The SFPE “5 Under 35” recipients represent the industry’s top rising leaders who give back to both the fire protection engineering profession and the community.  The 2022 recipients are as follows:
  • Spence R. Carter, PE; Idaho National Laboratory
  • William A. Clay, PE; Burns & McDonnell
  • Jessica L. Doermann; ARUP
  • Ruggiero Lovreglio, PhD; Massey University
  • Yu Wang, PhD; The State Key Laboratory of Fire Science, China University of Science and Technology
Additionally, SFPE is pleased to announce nine award recipients as follows:
  • Daniel L. Arnold, PE, FSFPE; Seneca Fire Engineering – recipient of the SFPE John J. Ahern President’s Award
  • Brian W. Ballweg, PE; Hays Company – recipient of the SFPE Hats Off Award
  • Sean S. Donohue, PE, PEng, FSFPE; Jensen Hughes – recipient of the SFPE Harold E. Nelson Service Award
  • Jeffrey L. Harrington, PE, FSFPE; Harrington Group (ret.) – recipient of the SFPE Rolf H. Jensen Award for Outstanding Committee Service
  • Robert Jönsson; Prof. em., FSFPE; SWECO – recipient of the SFPE David A. Lucht Lamp of Knowledge Award
  • Gary Lewis; City of Summit, New Jersey – recipient of the SFPE Fire Protection Person of the Year Award
  • Guo-Qiang Li, PhD; Tongji University – recipient of the SFPE John L. Bryan Mentoring Award
  • Jack Poole, PE, FSFPE; Poole Fire Protection – recipient of the SFPE D. Peter Lund Award
  • Stanis Yu, UL Solutions – recipient of the SFPE Hats Off Award
“Our global community waits in anticipation each year for the announcement of who will be elevated to the status of SFPE Fellow, and – as the most prestigious professional honor bestowed by the Society – Warren, Dale, Gavin, Peter, Victoria, and Steven are most deserving of this highest distinction,” stated Nicole Boston, CAE, Chief Executive Officer, Society of Fire Protection Engineers.  “While our community has many, many talented engineering professionals, these six new Fellows and 14 award recipients represent some of the brightest, most involved, and most impactful engineering professionals.”
The awards will be presented by Beth Tubbs, President, SFPE, during the SFPE Annual Conference & Expo in Detroit, MI, USA, on October 12-14, 2022; registration for the conference is available at sfpe.org/annual22. Nominations for the Society’s 2023 class of Fellows and award recipients will be solicited in early 2023.

# # #


About SFPE:

Engineering a fire-safe world since 1950. Headquartered near Washington, DC, and in Brussels, BE, the Society of Fire Protection Engineers is the world’s leading professional society for fire protection and fire safety engineering. Learn more at sfpe.org.





Warren D. Bonisch, PE, FSFPE

Dale C. Hansen, PE, FSFPE

Gavin Horn, PhD, FSFPE

Peter L. Senez, PEng, FSFPE

Victoria B. Valentine, PE, FSFPE

Steven D. Wolin, PE, FSFPE


“5 Under 35” Recipients

Spence R. Carter, PE

William A. Clay, PE

Jessica L. Doermann

Ruggiero Lovreglio, PhD

Yu Wang, PhD


Award Recipients

Daniel L. Arnold, PE, FSFPE

Brian W. Ballweg, PE

Sean S. Donohue, PE, PEng, FSFPE

Jeffrey L. Harrington, PE, FSFPE

Robert Jönsson; Prof. em., FSFPE

Gary Lewis

Guo-Qiang Li, PhD

Jack Poole, PE, FSFPE

Stanis Yu


SFPE media contact:


Kevin Mlutkowski

Director, Community Engagement, Marketing, and Communications

Society of Fire Protection Engineers