This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Community Outreach and Advocacy Standing Committee

Scope of Work

The Committee on Community Outreach and Advocacy (COA) is responsible for advancing the recognition of the profession; increasing the public’s awareness of the profession and the services provided; and guiding the Society and its chapters in reaching out to the public, to allied professionals, to industry members, and to the code enforcement community for the purpose of increasing the stature of fire protection engineering and fire safety engineering. This Committee also recommends and monitors positions taken by the Society on emerging technical, legislative, and regulatory issues as well as provide support for marketing and public relation’s initiatives implemented by, and on behalf of, the Society.

Committee Members

Committee members are appointed by the SFPE Board of Directors for a three-year term. Members can request to be appointed to a second three-year term. Requests are reviewed by the Chair and the staff liaison and decisions are made by the Board of Directors. End of term is denoted in parentheses below.

Committee Co-Chairs: John Barrot and Ralph K. Foster, III 
Staff Liaison: Victoria B. Valentine

Kathleen Almand (2019)
Anthony Apfelbeck (2021)
Brian Ashe (2021)
Babak Bahrani (2019)
Daniel Bak (2019)
Lowell Black (2019)
Bruce Campbell (2019)
Mat Chibbaro (2019)
Marcin Cisek (2019)
Ed Claridge (2019)
Anthony Cole (2019)
Daniel Colombini (2021) 
Brian Cohen (2021)
Brad Cronin (2020)
Matthew Daelhousen (2020)
Nimish Deo (2019)
Gary Dominguez (2020) 
Derek Duval (2019)
Rocky Edwards (2019)
Netty Espinoza (2021)
R Keith Fairfax (2019)
Dan Finnegan (2019)
Brian Foster (2019)
Douglas Frey (2019)
Thomas Gardner (2019)
Thomas Goss (2019)
Glenn Hamilton
Mike Hennegan (2019)
Mark Hopkinsi (2020)
Bryan Hoskins (2021)
Gavin Horn (2019)
Diana Hugue (2019)
David Jacoby (2019)
Gregory Jakubowski (2019)
Bill Johns (2021)
Lucas Kirn (2019)
Isaac Leventon (2019)
Stephen Mackenzie (2019)
Shay Massey (2020)
Alex Miear (2019)
Andrew Milliken (2019)
Luis Molinelli (2019)
Nick Moriarty (2019)
Edward Orazine (2019)
Thomas Platt (2019)
Katie Pothier (2019)
Christine Pongratz (2021)
Edward Prendergast (2019)
Joseph Rashleigh (2021)
Peter Reddin (2020)
Robert Richter (2021)
Ryan Rigsbee (2020)
Jeffrey Rosen (2021)
Lance Rutimann (2021) 
Christian Stievenart (2019) 
Maria Theodori (2020)
Jared Thibodaux (2019)
Brian Thompson (2021)
Andrew Thul (2019)
Steven Venditti (2019)
Gennaro Vuoso (2019)
Brandon Wilkerson (2019)
David Young (2019)

Task Groups

Interdisciplinary Advocacy

Lead: Daniel Bak

  • Daniel Colombini
  • Rockwood Edwards
  • Luis Molinelli
  • Nick Moriarty
  • Katie Pothier
  • Maria Theodori

Public Policy

Lead: Brandon Wilkerson

  • Anthony Apfelbeck
  • Brian Ashe
  • John Barrot
  • Daniel Colombini
  • Matthew Daelhousen
  • Derek Duval
  • Mark Hopkins
  • Joseph Rashleigh
  • Jeffrey Rosen
  • Jared Thibodaux
  • Brian Thompson
  • Steven Venditti

Residential Fire and Life Safety

Lead: TBD
  • Lowell Black
  • Marcin Cisek
  • Nimish Deo
  • Mike Hennegan
  • Dave Young


Fire Service

Subcommittee Chair: Thomas Platt
Staff Liasion: Victoria B. Valentine

Scope of Work

The Subcommittee is made up of a diverse group of SFPE members that all have an interest in the advancing cooperation and communication between the Fire Service and the Fire Protection Engineering Profession.  Working with research, trends, and hot topics, where applicable, engineering information is transferred to the fire service.  In addition, fire service tactics and strategies are conveyed to the engineering community to improve fire protection scenarios.

Committee Members

  • Mat Chibbaro
  • Anthony Cole
  • Brad Cronin
  • Gary Dominguez
  • R Keith Fairfax
  • Daniel Finnegan
  • Douglas Frey
  • Gavin Horn
  • David Jacoby
  • Gregory Jakubowski
  • Andrew Milliken
  • Edward Prendergast
  • Steven Venditti

Student Outreach

Subcommittee Chair: Greg Jakubowski
Staff Liaison: Victoria B. Valentine

Committee Members

  • Kathleen Almand
  • Babak Bahrani
  • Brian Cohen
  • Bruce Campbell
  • Marcin Cisek
  • Anthony Cole
  • Matthew Daelhousen
  • Derek Duval
  • R Keith Fairfax
  • Tom Goss
  • Mike Hennegan
  • Bryan Hoskins
  • Diana Hugue
  • Shay Massey
  • Alex Miear
  • Andrew Milliken
  • Christine Pongratz
  • Katie Pothier
  • Robert Richter
  • Maria Theodori
  • Dave Young

To join a standing committee or subcommittee fill out and submit this volunteer application. The Board of Directors will review applications and make appointments on a rolling basis.

© SFPE® | All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy