This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
The Rolf H. Jensen Award for Outstanding Committee Service


The Rolf H. Jensen Award recognizes persons who have rendered unselfish, extraordinary service on a SFPE committee which contributes to SFPE's goals and to the profession of fire protection engineering.

Rolf H. Jensen, P.E. started his career at Underwriters Laboratories and continued on to serve as professor and chairman of the Department of Fire Protection Engineering at Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT). Jensen left IIT to start Rolf Jensen and Associates. The firm went on to become one of the largest consulting engineering firms in the field (now Jensen Hughes).

Among his many notable achievements, Jensen was appointed chairman by Mayor Richard J. Daley to investigate the 1967 McCormick Place fire in Chicago. Jensen was active in the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), where he served on numerous technical committees. Jensen served on the NFPA automatic sprinkler committee for 37 years and chaired the NFPA 13 New Technology Subcommittee during a period which saw many advancements in sprinkler technology. Jensen wrote the book "Fire Protection for the Design Professional" and received numerous awards, including the NFPA's Partners in Public Education Award in 1994 for his work in collaborative public education efforts, and service awards from the NFPA and the SFPE in the 1990s. He served as SFPE's President from 1987-1989.

Jensen is widely credited for achieving acceptance of fire protection engineering as part of the design process.

The award is endowed by Jensen Hughes and the recipient also receives a $1,000 honorarium.

2020 Recipient

Traci Bangor, P.E.

Prior Recipients

  • James A. Milke, P.E., Ph. D. FSFPE (1988)
  • Craig L. Beyler, Ph. D., FSFPE (1989)
  • Richard L. P. Custer (1989)
  • W. Douglas Walton, P.E., FSFPE (1989)
  • John M. Watts, Jr. (1989)
  • James R. Quiter, P.E. (1990)
  • Henry J. Perrault, P.E. (1991)
  • Nora H. Jason (1992)
  • Richard J. Davis, P.E. (1993)
  • David R. Bouchard, P.E. (1998)
  • Edwin R. Bayley, P.E. (1999)
  • Eric R. Rosenbaum, P.E. (2000)
  • Ralph R. Kerwin, P.E. (2001)
  • Jack A. Mawhinney, P.Eng. (2002)
  • Gregory Jakubowski, P.E., FSFPE (2003)
  • Dean K. Wilson, P.E. (2004)
  • Daniel J. O'Connor, P.E. FSFPE (2005)
  • Brian M. McGraw, P.E. (2006)
  • William B. Till, Jr. (2007)
  • David Allan Coutts, Ph. D. (2008)
  • Beth A. Tubbs, P.E., FSFPE (2009)
  • J. Kenneth Richardson, P.Eng., FSFPE (2010)
  • Craig Hofmeister, PE, FSFPE (2011)
  • Kevin McGrattan, Ph.D., HSFPE (2012)
  • Anthony J. Militello, P.E. (2013)
  • Ann Jeffers, Ph.D. (2014)
  • April Leyla Hammond, FSFPE (2015)
  • Frederick W. Mowrer, Ph.D., P.E., FSFPE (2016)
  • Timothy A. Hawthorne (2017)
  • Scott A. Futrell, P.E, FSFPE (2018)
  • Paul F. Hart, P.E., FSFPE (2019)
  • Traci Bangor, P.E. (2020)

Corporate 100 Visionaries

About Us

© 2019 SFPE | All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy